Fungus Tongue is Truly Disgusting – Oral Thrush Candida Fungus

There have been a lot of unsavory elements of cancer, but this green growth on my tongue is very possibly the worst. The doctor calls it thrush. I thought that was a bird. In the Hobbit? When the thrush knocks and the last ray of the setting sun will shine upon the keyhole.

Apparently thrush is moss growing on your tongue. Who knew?

http://www.webmd.com/oral-health/guide/dental-health-thrush

It’s been a month since I finished radiation, going on two months since my last chemotherapy treatment. Oral thrush is apparently caused by the cancer treatment because it disrupts the flora and fauna/micro ecosystem of the mouth.

First my oncologist gave me Clotrimazole 10MG. “Dissolve one lozenge in mouth five times a day.” After that was finished, the gummy feeling at the back of my throat was nearly gone. However about 4 days later, it seemed to regain strength. So, I emailed the doctor’s office and explained the symptoms.

Subject line: Raw Tongue. This is what I wrote:

My tongue seemed to be improving for a couple of weeks, but today and yesterday, it seems to be getting worse. There’s a phlegm on the back of my tongue and the top surface feels raw, slightly painful. There’s still a sore on each side of the tongue and in the last 2 days, they seem to be getting worse.

Would thrush account for this?

It’s just over a month since the end of radiation, so maybe I should just wait another couple of weeks and see if my tongue heals?

The nurse called and said the doctor thinks it is thrush and since I had just finished the one medicine, she wanted to try another Fluconazole 100MG. Take one tablet by mouth one time daily for 5 days. The pharmacist said this is probably true with most medications you are taking, but this may make you dizzy. Also, it might upset your stomach, so be sure to eat well before you take it.

I took it after dinner and 24 hours later, my mouth felt better. I’m glad the meds are only 5 days worth. That gives me hope that this will be gone in a few days.

Oral Thrust Candida Fungus

Oral Thrust Candida Fungus

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jo
    Apr 26, 2013 @ 12:40:50

    DId the 5 day meds work?
    I think I have oral thrush as well and am just curious…. thanks

    Reply

Leave a comment