So Far, So Good

Had my first quarterly checkup today. They did a CT scan, which was expected. They photographed the soft neck tissue with and without dye. But they also did a brain scan. That wasn’t expected. Both came out clean. Went to get what I thought was a routine mammogram and found out upon arrival that a routine scan is called a screening, but the mammogram my doctor ordered was a diagnostic. Why? Just to be sure, the technician said.

Please wait, while the radiologist reviews your imagines, she said. Then another technician came in. “The radiologist would like to do an ultrasound.” Why? Just to be sure. Okay.

All tests came out clean, they said.

My oncologist said everything looks normal including the CT scans, blood work, including white blood cells. All’s clear until the next follow-up in May.

Meanwhile, my Ear, Nose and Throat doctor told me something interesting. He said he agreed with throwing everything possible at my cancer because I had no risk factors. Basically, because I don’t drink, smoke or work in any kind of hazmat industrial job, my cancer grew without “fertilizer.”

He said, think of a plant that grows up in well-fertilized, moist, quality soil. As  compared to a weed that manages to spring up in the middle of an arid tundra.  “The weed is a heartier plant,” I said. Yes, exactly. He explained that cancers in patients like myself — no risk factors — tend to be more aggressive. How wonderfully reassuring 😉

It seems like the thrush is finally on the run. Nurse Diana Flores told me they have other patients who have also been suffering with persistent thrush. I thought I might add a few notes about treatment. In addition to the medications, I did everything Google said that didn’t sound dangerous. Various websites suggested that drinking buttermilk would help balance the Ph in my mouth, eating plain yogurt would introduce enzymes that would help fight the thrush,  staying well hydrated, and drinking strong herbal mint tea would help my body fight the disease. Lastly, taking multivitamins seemed to help my body fight, but I couldn’t swallow regular vitamin pills, so I bought adult gummy bear vitamins.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Feb 12, 2013 @ 14:29:10

    So glad everything is clear! Hooray! It’s good to get all the scans. Between non-fertilized cancer and all the radiation they’ve pumped into you (nothing causes cancer like radiation), it’s good to be cautious and have a look around everywhere. Hope that thrush fully disappears soon and you can get back to normal.

    Reply

  2. Bill
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 15:27:01

    So good to hear that your first quarterly check was clean! Mine will be due mid March.At this point with me,they are also doing a biopsy on a “node” on my thyroid.My doctor claims that the radiation is very bad for the thyroid anyway so I guess we will see.My taste has returned at least 85% which is better than I expected but a sore throat persists.I do have to stay close to a bottle of h2o during meals.Funny ,my hairline looks similar to yours but my doc don’t expect it to grow back.

    Reply

Leave a comment